NMF Roundup: Gesaffelstein reveals new EP, JOYRYDE drops ‘Selecta 19’ + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Gesaffelstein reveals new EP, JOYRYDE drops ‘Selecta 19’ + moreGesaffelstein Selecta 19

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

Gesaffelstein surprised the world once again by announcing on Oct. 3 that a new six-track EP would be released the following day. Also making this NMF particularly fiery is a new tune from JOYRYDE, “SELECTA 19,” and Pryda’s new 13-track collection. deadmau5’s here’s the drop remix LP has finally arrived, including remixes from artists like Rinzen, and NGHTMRE and Grabbitz have joined forces to deliver the irresistibly catchy “Bruises.” Kaskade’s new Redux compilation has arrived, featuring songs like “Lose Control” with Brohug, and Zeds Dead have remixed Oliver Tree’s “Miracle Man.” Arty brings weekend bliss with his new single, “Daydreams,” and G Jones drops off a new single, “Dark Artifact.” Armin van Buuren and Matluck keep the upbeat days of summer moving with “Don’t Let Me Go,” and Golf Clap reveal their spicy remix of Destructo’s “Bassface.” The Glitch Mob link with LICK for the dramatic “System Bleed,” and Pegboard Nerds and NERVO come together for “Crying Shame.” Goldroom continues to reveal tunes from his forthcoming LP, including “Just Like A Dream,” and Party Pupils, Louis Futon, MAX, and TOBi deliver a mega-collab, “One Two Things.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Lunar Lunes: Nathan C remixes Flume, Flite takes on RL Grime’s ‘Core’ + more

This post was originally published on this site

Lunar Lunes: Nathan C remixes Flume, Flite takes on RL Grime’s ‘Core’ + moreNathan C Press Photo

Each week, New Music Friday sweeps through with torrential force, showering streaming platforms with immeasurable amounts of new tunes. Just like Dancing Astronaut rounds up 25 of the biggest songs of the week for the Hot 25 Spotify playlist each New Music Friday, Lunar Lunes serves as a landing pad for SoundCloud users who want a whole new dose of tunes to kick off the work week.

The selection is updated every Lunes (Monday).

Dr. Fresch celebrates new Prescription label launch with 9-track G-house compilation

This post was originally published on this site

Dr. Fresch celebrates new Prescription label launch with 9-track G-house compilation11.9.17 DrFRESCH 020 Edit

Tony Fresch (aka Dr. Fresch) has come a long way since the 2012 launch of his former label, Prep School Recordings. The Prep School launch jump-started Fresch’s career in electronic music, as he wielded the indie imprint to release debut EPs from the now-dignitary Louis The Child, Illenium, and more. Since then, he’s solidified a commendable reputation as both an accomplished DJ and inventive producer, releasing music on upper-echelon dance labels such as OWSLA and Ministry of Sound.

Now, the LA-based curator has announced his newest project: The Prescription Records, a label created auspiciously alongside Insomniac Music Group. The label establishment is the latest extension of Fresch’s Prescription brand, which currently has its own mix series on Sirius XM (now on its 58th episode). Appropriately, in 2013, it was Insomniac which gave Fresch his start as a touring DJ after he won their Discovery Project competition. In many ways, the new imprint cements his six-year relationship with the industry giant.

To celebrate the label’s debut, Prescription Records has released a nine-track compilation featuring 12 unique talents, including Dr. Fresch himself (“Dr. No”), Arizona-based BIJOU (“Smack”), French DJ Tony Romera (“Kill The System”), and more. The compilation cements Fresch’s affinity for bringing novelty and nuance to the contemporary G-House domain, being one of the sub-genre’s original gurus.

Fresch had some remarks on the announcement:

“The Prescription Records is, in every sense, an extension of my artist brand as Dr. Fresch. I’m working with new artists whose music not only fits my style as a producer and DJ, but new artists who I see developing truly groundbreaking sounds in 2019… ‘The Remedy Vol. 1’ is a cohesive project that showcases the label vision from a dozen different artists. These producers pull elements of G-House, Bass House and Electro to solidify a sound I’ve been developing for years – that’s The Prescription.”

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 53

This post was originally published on this site

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 53Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

This forthcoming Destinations, Vol. 1 EP from Pilot Records is looking huge. From its first release (Fox Stevenson‘s “Bruises”) to this newest one from Feint, the EP is sure to be a hit once it’s released in full on Sept. 12. In “Mirror Signal,” Feint flexes his strong ability to build a gorgeously atmospheric form of drum & bass. Highlighted by a slightly wistful melody and backed by a strong beat and even some strings, Feint continues to prove he’s a force to be reckoned with.

In one of Silk Music‘s latest releases, Kazakhstan’s Tim Iron teams up with Russia’s Michael Mashkov for a truly impressive two-track EP. The Quaresma EP consists of two renditions of the track: an original mix and a remix from Mashkov. Both takes on the song are gorgeous in their production and sound design, as the two producers have expertly crafted a track that’s both danceable and pensive.

The Dominican Republic’s Marcio Lama has enlisted the help of Emerelle in his latest piece of work, and the result is stunning. “Solid State” is a haunting affair, as Emerelle’s saintly vocals drift in and out of the track’s builds and drops. With subtle trap undertones and a hefty dose of bass amidst the track’s eerie melody, “Solid State” looks to be one of Lama’s most impressive works to date.

Over the course of the past few months, France’s Tony Romera has thrilled fans with high-profile releases on Mad Decent and CONFESSION. His infectious house beats make for exceptional remixes on tracks like Diplo‘s “Get It Right,” and his latest, a rework of Armand Van Helden, is no exception. “I don’t pretend to make something better than the original as it’s one of my fav track ever,” Romera notes in the track’s description. “Just wanted to give to it a lil more punch, a different structure and groove to add it to my sets.”

In his first release since last September’s remix of Rain Man and MAX‘s “Do You Still Feel?Summer Was Fun takes on Gigi D’Agostino’s 1999 hit “I’ll Fly With You.” Adding his usual trippy, feel-good elements to the old-school dance track, Summer Was Fun modernizes the original and brings it into 2018. Chopped-up vocals and a lively trap beat make this rendition perfect for the end of summer… because, you know, “Summer Was Fun.”