The Shins – “Waimanalo” & “Trapped By The Sea”

This post was originally published on this site

The musician Richard Swift died last year and a bunch of his friends and collaborators got together to launch a new 7″ series, The Fug Yep Soundation, in his honor. The first volume of the series came out around this time last year, and it included Lucius covers of … More »

Watch The Shins’ Short Film The Worm’s Heart

This post was originally published on this site

The Shins have shared a new short film titled The Worm’s Heart, directed by drummer Jon Sortland. It’s soundtracked by music from the reworked version of the band’s 2017 release Heartworms. The Worm’s Heart was released in January. More »

The Shins explore new aural hyperdimension with new “flipped album” The Worm’s Heart, aim to bisect entirety of indie-rock multiverse

This post was originally published on this site

Thanks to one Mr. James Mercer, it seems my long-standing invocation to traverse the margins of indie-rock hyperspace may finally be coming true. And the best part of all? I don’t even have to leave planet earth.

That’s right — as a followup to their hit studio album Heartworms (which dropped back in March of this year) — Mercer and (maybe?) a sparklingly-talented-yet-totally-irrelevant crew of Shins bandmates have announced the release of The Worm’s Heart, which will feature “flipped’ versions of every track from Heartworms. Slow, acoustic songs like “Mildenhall” and “The Fear,” for example, will be given shots of adrenaline straight to the ass, while thumping synth tunes like “Cherry Hearts” will be stripped down into “rawer,” more organic subunits.

You can get your first glimpse into this brave new Shins’ hyperdimension by checking out “Cherry Hearts (Flipped)” below, and then — after you’ve stepped foot into the alternate universe — you can further stimulate your aural devices with the flipped version of hit Heartworms single, “Name For You.” It seems that after 15 years of dominating this galaxy, Mr. Mercer has now set his sights on conquering every alternate dimension in the indie-rock multiverse.

The Worm’s Heart is set to drop on January 19, but if you feel you can’t wait that long, go ahead and hop into your little Naboo Cruiser and pre-order the record (in either CD or LP format) from this handy little intergalactic wormhole into the future.

The Worm’s Heart tracklisting:

01. The Fear (Flipped)
02. So Now What (Flipped)
03. Heartworms (Flipped)
04. Dead Alive (Flipped)
05. Half a Million (Flipped)
06. Rubber Ballz (Flipped)
07. Mildenhall (Flipped)
08. Fantasy Island (Flipped)
09. Cherry Hearts (Flipped)
10. Painting a Hole (Flipped)
11. Name For You (Flipped)

The Shins Announce The Heart’s Worm, A Reworked Version Of Heartworms

This post was originally published on this site

Earlier this year, the Shins released Heartworms, an album that they spent forever making. But they didn’t just make one version of Heartworms. As Pitchfork points out, the Shins are getting ready to release The Worm’s Heart, a new album that’ll feature reworkings of every song on Heartworms. (The idea is that … More »