Sigur Rós Cleared On Tax Evasion Charges

This post was originally published on this site

Sigur RósMembers of the experimental rock band Sigur Rós have been cleared of tax evasion charges in Iceland, according to Icelandic newspaper Fréttablaðið and confirmed by Pitchfork. More »

Dark Morph (Jonsí & CM Hausswolff) – “Beka Yalo”

This post was originally published on this site

Dark Morph - "Beka Yalo"Jónsi of Sigur Rós and Swedish composer Carl Michael von Hausswolff have announced a one-off ambient collaboration under the name Dark Morph. According to the press release, the project of the same name was inspired by a trip on a research vessel called the Dardanella, which cruised around the islands of Fiji. Today, they’re releasing … More »

Sigur Rós celebrate 20th anniversary of Ágætis byrjun with limited edition deluxe box set

This post was originally published on this site

I’m gonna drop a patented TMT hot take here: too many album anniversaries pass by without absurd reissue box sets, deluxe editions, or retrospectives. Where’s my 10th anniversary reissue of Discovery’s LP? What about a 40th anniversary edition of the indisputable second best Talking Heads record, Fear of Music? Why hasn’t anyone filled the gaping void in the market where a 10-disc box set of outtakes from Madonna’s I’m Breathless sessions should be? It is an outrage, over and over, every time an anniversary of an album release passes by without MORE CONTENT!

Luckily, Sigur Rós are still kickin’ around with some of that famous Icelandic hospitality to give us a much-needed 20th anniversary limited edition, all-around deluxe box set of their landmark breakthrough album, Ágætis byrjun!

But before you dust off that Duolingo icon to brush up on your Hopelandic, you probably want to know exactly what you can expect from this Ágætis byrjun reissue. Well, the Limited Edition Deluxe Box Set™ will, in addition to the album on 2xLP, hit you straight in the face with an 84-page cloth-bound book, a 2xLP live set from 1999 at Íslenska óperan, and three LPs of “demos, rarities, and early live recordings” (plus digital download)! Oh, and the first 1999 are numbered (presumably, although not confirmed, from 1 to 1999). Other editions — including a CD expanded edition, an LP edition, a digital deluxe edition, and a digital edition — are also available…with a lot less cool stuff!

The 20th anniversary Ágætis byrjun box set drops like a rock June 21, and you can pre-order all variations of the reissue at the digital deluxe edition of Sigur Rós’s website here. This is the kind of respect we need for cultural touchstones, people! (I still can’t believe Charli XCX and Troye Sivan failed to reference “Svefn-g-englar” in their hit global smash “1999”.)

Heed my words: we gotta celebrate every acclaimed cultural artifact from our past, every single time 365.25 days go by, or I will friggin’ lose it!

Ágætis byrjun (A Good Beginning) [20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] by Sigur Rós

1999 Deluxe 7 x LP numbered limited edition tracklisting:

3 x LP – Demos and Rarities:

Side A
01. Svefn-g-englar (Live at Popp í Reykjavík, 1998)
02. Starálfur (Original speed version)

Side B
01. Flugufrelsarinn (1998 Demo)
02. Ný batterí (Instrumental)

Side C
01. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm) (1995 Demo)
02. Viðrar vel til loftárása (Alternative ending)

Side D
01. Olsen Olsen (1998 Demo)
02. Ágætis byrjun (1998 Demo)

Side E
01. Hugmynd 1 (1998 Demo)
02. Hugmynd 2 (1998 Demo)
03. Hugmynd 3 (1998 Demo)

Side F
01. Debata mandire (Live at Laugardashöll, 1999)
02. Rafmagnið búið (From Ný batterí EP, 2000)

2 x LP – Live Íslenska Óperan 1999:

Side A
01. Intro
02. Von
03. Syndir Guðs

Side B
01. Flugufresarinn
02. Olsen Olsen
03. Ágætis byrjun

Side C
01. Viðrar vel til loftárása
02. Svefn-g-englar
03. Ný batterí

Side D
01. Nýja lagið
02. Hafssól

2 x LP – Original album

4 x CD:
1 x Rarities / 2 x Live Íslenska Óperan 1999 + Rarities / 1 x Original album

2 x LP:
Original album + download code of Demos and Rarities + Live Íslenska Óperan 1999

Sigur Rós Charged With Tax Evasion

This post was originally published on this site

Members of the Icelandic band Sigur Ros have been charged with tax evasion, three years after local authorities launched a probe into the avant-garde rock band’s finances. More »

Sigur Rós Announce Ágætis byrjun 20th Anniversary Box Set With Unreleased Material

This post was originally published on this site

Later this year, Sigur Rós’ breakthrough sophomore album Ágætis byrjun is turning 20. To mark the occasion, it is getting an expansive 20th anniversary edition that’ll be released on 6/21, just a week after the big day. More »

Preview Sigur Rós’ New Dance Performance Soundtrack

This post was originally published on this site

Last November, Sigur Ròs frontman Jónsi collaborated with Troye Sivan on a ballad called “Revelation” for the Boy Erased soundtrack. Today, Sigur Ròs announced that they will follow that contribution with new music for a forthcoming Taiwanese dance piece, 22° Lunar Halo, by choreographer Cheng Tsung-lung, premiering … More »

Kendrick Lamar, Donald Glover, SZA, Lady Gaga, Troye Sivan, Jónsi Nominated For Golden Globes

This post was originally published on this site

Donald-GloverIt’s that time of year again. The year-end movie-awards season officially kicked into high gear this morning with the announcement of this year’s Golden Globes nominations. And as ever, there were plenty of music-world crossovers. One of the year’s heavyweights, of course, is A Star Is Born, Bradley Cooper’s sweeping and old-fashioned rock … More »

Watch Troye Sivan Sing His Jónsi Collab “Revelation” On The Tonight Show

This post was originally published on this site

Troye-Sivan-on-FallonJust a few months ago, Troye Sivan released a new album called Bloom. It was very good. This past week, Sivan performed on The Tonight Show twice, and neither of the songs came from Bloom. Are we already past that? Or is Troye Sivan just exploding with good songs that demand to be … More »

Mary Lattimore – “It Feels Like Floating (Jónsi Remix)”

This post was originally published on this site

The harpist and composer Mary Lattimore just released an excellent collaborative album, Ghost Forests, with Meg Baird, and earlier this year she put out her latest solo album, the also excellent Hundreds Of Days. More »

Sigur Rós Drummer Quits Following Sexual Assault Allegations

This post was originally published on this site

Orri-Pal-DyrasonOrri Páll Dýrason is no longer in Sigur Ròs. Recently, as Exclaim points out, Meagan Boyd, a Los Angeles musician who records as Yin Shadowz, recently wrote an Instagram post accusing Dýrason of raping her when she was asleep in his bed one night. This morning, Sigur Ròs postedMore »