Igloofest Montréal announces 2020 season lineup, including RÜFÜS DU SOL, REZZ, Zeds Dead, and more

This post was originally published on this site

Igloofest Montréal announces 2020 season lineup, including RÜFÜS DU SOL, REZZ, Zeds Dead, and moreIgloofest

Igloofest makes its imprint on the international music festival scene with its signature, trademark characteristic—embracing the arctic climate known as Canadian winters. The Montréal-based festival has just announced its 2020 season lineup, amassing a proudly diverse selection of male and female artists to top each of the four weekends of its outdoor winter series.

For its upcoming 14th edition, Igloofest welcomes a new slate of headliners over each weekend, held from Jan. 16 – Feb. 8, 2020. The opening weekend kicks off performances from headliners THE BLAZE, ANNA, Reinier Zonneveld, and curated stage takeover from Anjunabeats—with a lineup to be announced. Over the remaining three weekends, the festival’s headliners include REZZ, Nina Kraviz, RÜFÜS DU SOL, ZEDS DEAD, and Charlotte De Witte to close out each chilly night of the series.

Among the headlining performances, Igloofest welcomes an abundance of varied local and international support from artists like i_o, VNSSA, Jeremy Olander, Honey Soundsystem, Robert Hood, and many others. Held in the charismatic grounds of the city’s Old Port, the festival will debut a redesigned layout to increase their capacity, filled with handfuls of activities, treats and vendors within the magical Igloovillage and increased heated IGLOOVIP areas.

Tickets and more information on Igloofest can be found online here.

Igloofest Montréal announces 2020 season lineup, including RÜFÜS DU SOL, REZZ, Zeds Dead, and more72175109 990188757982267 5802647575928504320 N

Photo credit: Charles Prot Photography

Techno legend Robert Hood’s DJ-Kicks mix coming next month from !K7

This post was originally published on this site

Here’s a really good one.

One of Detroit techno’s forefathers, its relentless purveyor for more than twenty five years now — Robert fucking Hood — is coming out with a DJ Kicks release. You know: one of those double vinyl-length mixes that the Berlin label !K7 has been putting out every couple of months since 1995? The ones that are usually just as good any studio album you might get your hands on in a given year, and signify its author’s belonging to electronic music’s absolute first league?? Yeah. One of those.

Come to think of it, it’s kind of hard to believe that Hood hasn’t signed off on a DJ Kicks before; but better late than never. The mix will be out on November 16 digitally, on CD, and two 12” vinyl samplers, full of what the DJ/producer is best known for: hard-hitting, no bullshit, bare-bones techno. Among its 22 tracks are four fresh Robert Hood exclusives and 18 recently-released tracks, mostly from European producers, that still sound like fresh Robert Hood exclusives. Maybe because of his supreme curatorial gene, and maybe because of how much everyone’s been influenced by his shit all along. Probably both.

Pre-order the album here — then listen to an older Robert Hood track that has made its way to the mix, check out the release’s cover, and take a look at the tracklisting below:

Robert Hood DJ Kicks CD tracklisting:

01. Connected (Intro)
02. Robert Hood – Focus (DJ-Kicks)
03. Truncate – Terminal 5
04. Slam – Remain
05. Robert Hood – Clocks
06. Marcel Fengler – Thwack
07. Mark Broom – King (Gary Beck Remix)
08. Robert Hood – Greytype I
09. Robert Hood – Mirror Man
10. Stare5 – We Will Not
11. Gary Beck – Video Siren
12. Mark Reeve – Dice
13. Robert Hood – Bond Solid
Robert Hood – Solid Thought
Robert Hood – The Bond We Formed
14. Landside – Signs of Change (Robert Hood Remix)
15. Adrian Hour – Make You Feel Good
16. Ben Long & Tom Hades – The Knight Rider
17. Clouds – Chained to A Dead Camel
18. Hans Bouffmyere & Kyle Geiger – Inwards
19. Robert Hood – Machineform
Robert Hood – Red Machine
Robert Hood – Form
20. Robert Hood – Hall of Mirrors
21. Oliver Deutschmann – Confuzed
22. Matrixxman – Protocol

LP sampler tracklisting:

A1. Robert Hood – Focus (DJ-Kicks)
A2. Truncate – Terminal 5
B1. Slam – Remain
B2. Stare5 – We Will Not
C1. Gary Beck – Video Siren
C2. Mark Reeve – Dice
D1. Landside – Signs of Change (Robert Hood Remix)
D2. Ben Long – The Knight Rider