Toro Y Moi – “Care Of Cell 44″ (The Zombies Cover)

This post was originally published on this site

Toro Y MoiToro Y Moi is about to release a new album called Outer Peace. It doesn’t come out until the end of the week, but you can already stream it in full here. And today, Toro Y Moi mastermind Chaz Bear, formerly known as Chazwick Bundick, stopped by SiriusXMU to record a live in-studio … More »

Sir Babygirl – “Everyone Is A Bad Friend”

This post was originally published on this site

Next month, Sir Babygirl is releasing her debut album, Crush On Me. The three songs we’ve heard from it so far — “Heels,” “Flirting With Her,” and “Haunted House” — have all been balls-to-the-wall, capital-P pop songs, but the next thing Kelsie Hogue is offering up is a bit … More »

Mustard – “Pure Water” (Feat. Migos)

This post was originally published on this site

Mustard - "Pure Water" (Feat. Migos)Mustard, the producer formerly known as DJ Mustard, has a new single out today called “Pure Water.” In effect, it’s a new Migos single, and this is not one of those fake Migos features that only includes one or two members of the group. Quavo, Offset, and Takeoff are all on the track, which, despite … More »

Premiere: Meg Baird and Mary Lattimore – “Between Two Worlds”

This post was originally published on this site

When the mouth-watering collaboration between folk flingers Meg Baird and Mary Lattimore was first mooted many months ago, the excitement level was only matched by the collective wish that these two skilled souls had got together for a full-scale, full-length much sooner.

But as the motivational quote poster on my bedroom ceiling claims, “Stop wishing for the past to be different and make the most of right now.” Right now, Ghost Forests (released on Three Lobed in November) can be relished endlessly for the idyllic stunner it is. And RIGHT NOW, we have the premiere of M&M’s new video for Ghost Forests gorgeous opener “Between Two Worlds.” Capturing nature in all its raw, intense beauty, the video perfectly syncs with the sounds made by Lattimore and Baird. As director Jules Guerin says,

What I like the most about this song is this duality between beauty and tension. There is something wild, as if it was about to explode. It’s like staring at a beautiful landscape or remembering it, you can relate to everything about it… And at some point, your perception shifts and you can feel how feral and threatening it can be, but you’re mesmerized and just can’t take your eyes off it.

These two artists don’t settle on one project for too long, so make the most of the soon as you peruse the handful of forthcoming live dates with Steve Gunn below. For now, gaze at the beauteous video for “Between Two Worlds.”

Meg Baird & Mary Lattimore live:

01.31.19 – Boston, MA – Great Scott #
02.01.19 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom #
02.02.19 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer #
02.08.19 – San Diego, CA – Casbah #
02.09.19 – Los Angeles, CA – Teragram Ballroom #

# with Steve Gunn

Stream Monplaisir’s The Agreement

This post was originally published on this site

Monplaisir-The-AgreementMonplaisir come from the French city of Lyon, and they play a tingly, romantic form of indie rock. There’s a lot of melody to the band’s sound, but it’s shaped out of eerie, ringing, vaguely discordant guitar sounds. The band’s style reminds me a bit of Built To Spill or Unwound, and we don’t get … More »

Depeche Mode, New Order, Erasure, & Dozens More Reinterpret John Cage’s 4’33” On New Box Set

This post was originally published on this site

In 1952, experimental composer John Cage released the conceptual composition 4’33”, which instructed performers to not play their instrument for the allotted amount of time and hone in on the environmental sounds that are happening around them. It’s become a landmark work for those who like to nerd out about music, and later this year … More »

DAWN – “Sauce”

This post was originally published on this site

Next week, R&B experimentalist Dawn Richard is releasing her latest album as DAWN, New Breed. She shared the title track from it back when it was announced in November, but otherwise we haven’t heard much from it. Today, though, Richard is sharing its second single, “Sauce,” which was co-produced by Cole M.G.N. and … More »

Stream Tree & Vic Spencer’s New Album Nothing Is Something

This post was originally published on this site

Tree-and-Vic-Spencer-Nothing-Is-SomethingA few years ago, the Chicago rapper and producer Tree made a name for himself. His style sounded grizzled and hard-earned — thoughtful lyrics, ragged voice, seen-it-all delivery. And his production style, which he called “soul trap,” involved expertly chopped-up samples and bone-hard swells of bass and drums. This was potent stuff; I loved his … More »

Wild Nothing – “Blue Wings”

This post was originally published on this site

Wild NothingWild Nothing, the shimmering dream-pop project of Virginia native Jack Tatum, released the album Indigo last year. Today, Wild Nothing is back with a new standalone single. “Blue Wings,” which was originally written for Indigo, is another polished new wave reverie right in Tatum’s wheelhouse. Quoth the man himself: … More »

Mike Krol – “What’s The Rhythm” Video

This post was originally published on this site

Mike KrolAt the end of next week, Mike Krol is releasing his latest album, Power Chords. We’ve heard a handful of tracks from it already — “I Wonder,” “Little Drama,” and “Los Angeles” — and today the Los Angeles road warrior is sharing another new one, “What’s The Rhythm?” … More »