P.E. – “Top Ticket” & “Top Ticket (Liars Remix)”

This post was originally published on this site

Earlier this year, the New York City band Pill broke up after two albums, but three of its members — Veronica Torres, Jonathan Campolo, and Benjamin Jaffe — have gone on to form the band P.E., alongside Eaters‘ Jonathan Schenke and Bob Jones. P.E. are releasing their debut album, Person, next … More »

Breaks With Tradition: “UFO”

This post was originally published on this site

Back around Dilla Day, I took a look at one of the most famous sirens in hip-hop and dance music — the wooooop that kicked off Mantronix’s 1988 sample-collage classic “King Of The Beats” and became Dilla’s signature drop during the last few years of his life. More »

MUTE announce compilation of John Cage’s famously silent “4’33”” interpreted by over 50 artists, somehow expect us to pay more than $0.00 for it

This post was originally published on this site

If the headline of this news article made you instinctively look at your calendar to make sure it’s not April 1, you’re not alone. However, there’s more to this story than just a money-thirsty label figuring out how to sell a five-LP worth of silence on wax. Heck, by the end of this post, you might even be heading to their website to pre-order the damn thing.

As part of the imprint’s 40th anniversary celebration, London heavyweight MUTE has announced the May 2019 release of STUMM433, a box set collecting over 50 renditions of John Cage’s “4’33”” performed (“performed?”) by the label’s vast roster of artists. Depeche Mode, New Order, Liars, Moby, Wire, Ben Frost and others will all refrain from playing their instruments for exactly four minutes and thirty three seconds, in a homage to the 1952 piece that did for music what Duchamp’s Fountain did for art.

Here’s why the box set might actually be worth your money (and time): each artist has also created an appealing visual to accompany their “cover” of the composition, and the proceeds from the sales of the entire compilation will be split evenly between the British Tinnitus Association and Music Minds Matter charities; these organizations have been chosen to pay tribute to Inspiral Carpets’ late founder Craig Gill, who had battled tinnitus-related anxiety and depression in the years leading up to his death.

The very first visual from STUMM433 is available now and comes from the Slovenian avant-garde group Laibach. Watch it below (but first, here’s some white space):

STUMM433 featured artists:

A Certain Ratio, A.C. Marias, ADULT., The Afghan Whigs, Alexander Balanescu, Barry Adamson, Ben Frost, Bruce Gilbert, Cabaret Voltaire, Carter Tutti Void, Chris Carter, Chris Liebing, Cold Specks, Daniel Blumberg, Depeche Mode, Duet Emmo, Echoboy, Einstürzende Neubauten, Erasure, Fad Gadget (tribute), Goldfrapp, He Said, Irmin Schmidt, Josh T. Pearson, K Á R Y Y N, Komputer, Laibach, Land Observations, Lee Ranaldo, Liars, Looper, Lost Under Heaven, Maps, Mark Stewart, Michael Gira, Mick Harvey, Miranda Sex Garden, Moby, Modey Lemon, Mountaineers, New Order, Nitzer Ebb, NON, Nonpareils, The Normal, onDeadWaves, Phew, Pink Grease, Pole, Polly Scattergood, Renegade Soundwave, Richard Hawley, ShadowParty, Silicon Teens, Simon Fisher Turner, The Warlocks, Wire, Yann Tiersen

Liars – “Total 3 Part Saga” & Tropical Fuck Storm – “The Happiest Guy Around”

This post was originally published on this site

Two weeks ago, Angus Andrew’s newly solo project Liars announced the forthcoming album Titles With The Word Fountain and shared its lead track “Murdrum.” The avant-punk veteran is back today with a bit of a sidestep from that album rollout: a single for Brooklyn label Famous Class’ LAMC (Less Artists More … More »

Liars announce sequel to TFCF, hopefully it’s more of an Aliens situation than a xXx: State of the Union one

This post was originally published on this site

While each and every day that passes makes it seem less and less likely that Spaceballs 2: The Search for More Money will ever see the light of day, at least there’s one upcoming sequel to get excited about. Liars have announced TFCF 2: Still TF and CF’ing It Titles With The Word Fountain, their ninth studio album and sequel to last year’s TFCF.

While the songs were recorded during the same sessions as TFCF, please, do not think of Titles With The Word Fountain as some sort of rarities and outtakes collection. According to Angus Andrew, now in his second album as sole member of Liars, “I chose the songs that appear on TFCF based on how well they addressed the trauma of a failed creative relationship, whereas the material on Titles With The Word Fountain is more playful despite revolving around the same sentiments.” See? The new album takes the familiar sentiments of its predecessor, and plays with them to tell a new story that aims to be — while part of a whole — fresh and interesting on it’s own. A true sequel!

Hear for yourself by listening to “Murdrum,” fresh from Titles With The Word Fountain, down below…which is where you can also check out the album’s artwork and full 17 song tracklisting (looks like we’ve got a real The Godfather: Part II on our hands.) All the above being said about the album being its own thing, Titles With The Word Fountain will be packaged with TFCF and released digitally and on cassette via Mute on September 21, with a limited edition — very limited edition — release on green vinyl to come on November 2. Pre-order the album in any format you desire here.

Titles With The Word Fountain

01. 97 Tears
02. Face In Ski Mask Bodies To The Wind
03. Murdrum
04. Pure Context
05. Double Elegy
06. Left’s Got Power Right Hasn’t
07. Past Future Split
08. P/AM
09. Fantail Creeps
10. Perky Cut
11. Feed The Truth
12. Gawking At The Accident
13. Absence Blooms
14. Extracts From The Seated Sequence
15. On Giving Up
16. Sound Of Burning Rubbish
17. A Kind Of Stopwatch
(The digital version features an 18th track, “No Help Pamphlet (The Alpha Ceti Orchestra Remix),” which originally appeared on TFCF)

Oh yeah, here’s some Liars Australian tour dates too!

09.27.18 – Melbourne, Australia – The Curtin
09.28.18– Melbourne, Australia – ACMI Late Nights
09.29.18 – Surry Hills, Australia – Oxford Art Factory
09.30.18 – Wollongong, Australia – Yours & Owls Festival

Liars – “Murdrum”

This post was originally published on this site

Last year, the avant-garde group Liars became a solo project with only Angus Andrew left standing. He released TFCF and followed it up with the score to the film 1/1, the band’s last recordings with Aaron Hemphill. Today Andrew is back with news of TFCF’s proper follow-up, Titles With The Word Fountain. More »

Liars – “Helsingor Lane” Video (Feat. Judd Nelson)

This post was originally published on this site

Liars wrote the soundtrack for Jeremy Phillips’ directorial debut 1/1. The film stars Lindsey Shaw, Judd Nelson, and Dendrie Taylor and follows the story of a girl growing up in rural Pennsylvania. It’s in theaters now. More »

Liars – “No Now Not Your Face” Video

This post was originally published on this site

LiarsLiars composed the score for 1/1, the first feature film from writer/director Jeremy Phillips. While Liars has been Angus Andrew’s solo project since 2017, the 1/1 soundtrack was written and recorded immediately after the band’s 2014 album Mess, making it the last Liars material to feature Aaron Hemphill before his amicable departure to focus on … More »

Liars – “Liquorice” Video

This post was originally published on this site

Liars - "Liquorice" VideoLiars have written and recorded the soundtrack to Jeremy Phillips’ upcoming directorial debut 1/1. And while the last Liars record, last year’s TFCF, was the first to feature Angus Andrew as the band’s sole member, the soundtrack, which was made shortly after Liars’ 2014 album Mess, contains the last recordings done with Aaron … More »