NMF Roundup: Diplo remixes Kaskade, Spencer Brown takes on deadmau5 + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Diplo remixes Kaskade, Spencer Brown takes on deadmau5 + moreSpencer Brown Press 3 E1568995205752

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

Diplo leads the charge this NMF with a sultry remix of Kaskade, Felix Cartal and Jenn Blosil’s “More,” and Spencer Brown previews deadmau5’s forthcoming here’s the drop! remix LP with his take on “fn pig (ov).” Cashmere Cat’s sophomore album makes its debut on Sept. 20, featuring song like the Christina Aguilera-sampled “WATERGIRL,” and Chris Lorenzo takes on Boombox Cartel and MadeinTYO’s “NEW WIP.” M83’s much-anticipated 15-song DSVII is out now, featuring songs like “Feelings,” and Kill Paris puts an even groovier spin on Haywyre’s already-funky “Storyteller.” Opiuo and Lafa Taylor shine in “Send It,” and Muzzy tackles Knife Party’s “Ghost Train” with a sinister rendition of his own. Billy Kenny and Huxley take to the dance floor on “SWEAT,” and Feenixpawl and Marcus Santoro bring the feels with “Forever Young.” Cristoph puts his own spin on The Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition,” and Dom Dolla plays with words on “San Frandisco.” David Guetta remixes himself as Jack Back in a new remix of “Thing For You,” and Luttrell paints a serene soundscape with his remix of Jai Wolf and Mr Gabriel’s “Lose My Mind.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

First Listen: Opiuo and Lafa Taylor ‘Send It’

This post was originally published on this site

First Listen: Opiuo and Lafa Taylor ‘Send It’Opiuo

Before lighting up Voodoo Festival and shipping out on tour with Gramatik this October, New Zealand-Australian crossover talent, Opiuo has resolved to “Send It,” with his second single from his forthcoming project, Syzygy 02.

With vocal bolster from West Coast rapper, Lafa Taylor, “Send It” is imbued with Opiuo’s cornerstone instrumental, electronic funk. Taylor’s irreverently optimistic lyricism serves as an improbable complement to the “Sneakers” producer’s effervescent framework.

“Send It” follows the aptly named “Kaleidoscope,” the iridescent and particularly bass-heavy first offering from the forthcoming venture. It’s clear listeners can expect a well-rounded second arm of the Syzygy series. Catch Opiuo on tour this fall, with tickets available here.

Tour Dates

October 23 – Republic Bar & Cafe, Hobart, TAS

October 24 – Island Vibe Festival, Brisbane, QLD

October 27 – Voodoo Festival, New Orleans, LA

October 30 – The Observatory North Park – San Diego, CA *

October 31 – The Novo – Los Angeles, CA *

November 1 – Fox Theater – Oakland, CA *

November 2 – Cargo Concert Hall – Reno, NV *

November 6 – Roseland Theater – Portland, OR *

November 7 – McDonald Theatre – Eugene, OR *

November 8 – Mission Ballroom – Denver, CO**

November 9 – Knitting Factory – Spokane, WA *

November 14 – Skyway Theatre – Minneapolis, MN *

November 15 – Majestic Theatre – Madison, WI *

November 16 – The Riviera Theatre – Chicago, IL *

November 17 – The Intersection – Grand Rapids, MI *

November 20 – Stage AE – Pittsburgh, PA *

November 21 – House of Blues – Boston, MA *

November 22 – The Fillmore – Philadelphia, PA *

November 23 – Avant Gardner – Brooklyn, NY *
*in support of Gramatik

**Headline show

Paper Diamond unleashes 11-track ‘Holograms’ LP

This post was originally published on this site

Paper Diamond unleashes 11-track ‘Holograms’ LPVarien Press Shot

Since early 2011, Alexander Botwin has drawn listeners in with his unique sound. From Levitate on Pretty Lights‘ label seven years ago to his most recent releases, Botwin continuously demonstrates his ability to set himself apart in the oversaturated electronic music market.

The accomplished musician, known by his Paper Diamond moniker, has released his biggest collection of music since 2013’s Paragon: an 11-track album called Holograms. Originally debuted through standout tracks like flagship single “Work 9000,” the record is a versatile one, with Botwin weaving in and out between heavier bass offerings and more low-key emotive pieces like “Piece of Mind.” He’s brought aboard a talented crew of collaborators like JSTJR and Polina to lend their skills to the music, resulting in a dynamic, well-rounded collection of tracks that are sure to intrigue dance music fans of all persuasions.

Holograms is out now via Fool’s Gold Records.