Joker celebrates a decade of Kapsize with 3 New 12-inch Releases

This post was originally published on this site

We’ve all experienced weeks, months, and years that seem to blast by. Mouths agape, we ask: Where did the time go? But how many of us say that about a decade?

Kapsize, run by bass wunderkind Joker, is celebrating its tenth anniversary. With Tectonic reaching its own milestone this year with its 100th release (which, funny enough, Joker appears on), maybe we should start calling the 2010’s “the Bassies?” I can hear the internet trolls already.

But when we talk about the decade of dubstep, we mean the good kind: before the kiddies co-opted it. And Joker has done his fair share in spearheading this with his brand of tasteful production, a chief proponent of the Bristol “purple sound.” His tracks steer dubstep and grime out of the expected places that commonly produce disdain among music nerds. And those eighties video games timbres and blooming, bright synth leads — and, of course, that teeth-chattering low end — are all the more impressive when considering that, ten years ago, Joker was just cranking tracks out…on his own imprint…when he was nineteen.

To commemorate, light up some purp and rattle your windows with the atmospheric, Blade Runner-inspired “Anamorphic,” from the first 12” release, below:

12” trilogy tracklisting and release dates:

Anamorphic / Forever

01. Anamorphic
02. Forever
Available now

Marching Orders / Polka Dots

01. Marching Orders Ft. Footsie
02. Marching Orders (Instrumental)
03. Polka Dot
Available May 18

Boat / Deploy

01. Boat
02. Deploy
Available June 8

Shambhala announces initial 2018 lineup: Claude Von Stroke, Destructo, Feed Me, Gramatik, Christian Martin, Mr. Carmack, Opiuo, & more

This post was originally published on this site


After celebrating a historic two decades last year, Shambhala Music Festival returns to the pristine Salmo River Ranch in British Columbia, Canada, on August 10–13, 2018. Organizers of the transformational event have already dangled some tantalizing teasers in REZZThe Glitch Mob, Kyle Watson, and DJ QBert. Today, the festival announces the first phase for its 21st annual edition. 

This year’s roster will boast the first-ever Canadian debut of UK hip-hop legend Dizzee Rascal!, Dirtybird founder Claude VonStroke and his hip-hop leaning project Barclay Crenshaw, legendary UK dubstep aficionado Feed Me, renowned bass renegade DESTRUCTO, crossover hip-hop/electronic producer Mr. Carmack, mysteriously masked Malaa, world-class producer Gramatik, British creator of the “purple sound” sub-genre Joker, French world-music producer Fakear, UK drum & bass duo Camo & Krooked, melodic dubstep duo Adventure Club, the electrifying 2¢ project from DJ CRAZE and Four Color Zack, Mad Decent’s Boombox Cartel, electro house trio Black Tiger Sex Machine, Montreal bass music phenomenon Snails, Grammy winning live duo Brasstracks, and the glitched out Australian act OPIUO, plus many more.

Arriving as the most intriguing act of the weekend, arguably so, is 29 Palms, a collaborative side-project between Ooah and Boreta of The Glitch Mob.

Shambhala’s full line-up will arrive April 9th. Tickets and travel packages are almost sold out, grab yours here


Tectonic announces its 100th release by Riko Dan, feat. Pinch, Mumdance, Joker, Riko, Walton & Ziro

This post was originally published on this site

Tectonic, an absolute titan in the world of dubstep, is reaching a milestone by releasing its 100th recording this March. A whopping 13 years in for the label, the forthcoming EP Hard Food from Riko Dan is a hell of a way to ring it in.

The UK MC is known for spitting acerbic bars over top of the grungiest of grime tracks, making Hard Food’s other personnel the perfect collaborators. They also happen to be some of the biggest names in the Riddim game. Tectonic founder Pinch himself lays down the framework for “Vibration,” which you can blast at your ears now down below (perfect if you’re looking for the tune for your next crime spree, or just to get “Man’s Not Hot” out of your head). If it’s true that vibrations are what you send out to the universe as the song’s slowed sample intimates, this one’s an absolute shockwave.

The EP offers five more tracks, including additions from Mumdance, Ziro, and relative newcomer Walton, ensuring this one’s gonna stay on the aggressive side. Young’un prodigy Joker (who also mixed the album) kicks things off with the title track (“hard food” being UK slang for drugs).

Grab the release on vinyl and digital ahead of its March 2 release date; and for Pete’s sake, remember to protect your ears, y’all.

Hard Food EP tracklisting:

01. Riko & Joker – Hard Food
02. Riko & Pinch – Vibration
03. Riko & Walton – Slap It Up
04. Riko & Mumdance – Hungry
05. Riko & Ziro – Alright Then
06. Pinch & Mumdance Feat. Riko – Big Slug (Walton Remix)