Lunar Lunes: Louis Futon and The Philharmonix flip ‘Hey Arnold,’ Marshall Jefferson and Solardo deliver ‘Move Your Body’ + more

This post was originally published on this site

Lunar Lunes: Louis Futon and The Philharmonix flip ‘Hey Arnold,’ Marshall Jefferson and Solardo deliver ‘Move Your Body’ + moreLouis Futon

Each week, New Music Friday sweeps through with torrential force, showering streaming platforms with immeasurable amounts of new tunes. Just like Dancing Astronaut rounds up 25 of the biggest songs of the week for the Hot 25 Spotify playlist each New Music Friday, Lunar Lunes serves as a landing pad for SoundCloud users who want a whole new dose of tunes to kick off the work week.

The selection is updated every Lunes (Monday).

Photo credit: Louis Futon/Facebook

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 113

This post was originally published on this site

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 113Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Listen in playlist format here

Faux Tales‘ latest body of work is a beautiful sight to behold and absorb. Titled Hiraeth, the LP has been in the works for nearly two years. Its nine tracks allow the listener to transcend time and space, taking them on a cinematic, journey-like sonic venture. Faux Tales has a story to tell, and the album takes the listener through the chapters with thought-provoking tracks like “Home.”

Speaking of journeys, Murtagh transforms Dezza‘s “Apollo” in his newest piece of work. Dezza crafted an ethereal original track, full of builds and outer space-inspired dreamy synths. Dezza’s was fully otherworldly, abstaining from a beat or drop, but Irish producer Murtagh seizes his opportunity to introduce them. A steady, unobtrusive beat leads the listener through the song, giving it a bit of a mysterious and almost gloomy feel.

Grum starts his new single, “Tomorrow,” on a bold note, leading with bright, colorful synths and ushering in a deep-pounding bass. Wavy synths announce the entrance of emotive vocals, offsetting the tune’s darker feel with the distinctive singer’s voice. After the middle of the song, the flashy synths are reintroduced, lifting the listener back up before plunging them back into the shadowy, bass-filled instrumentals.

Inukshuk and Trove grab hold of the heartstrings and don’t let go on their new collaboration, “Pull Me In.” The joint effort is delicate and beautiful in both its vocal elements and in its instrumentals. Both aspects of the song manage to dig deep into the listener’s emotions and cradle the parts that are vulnerable and raw. It’s a gorgeous piece of work.

Fox Stevenson fans have been waiting for years upon years for the producer’s debut LP, and it’s finally arrived as of Oct. 18. The majority of the songs have been released as singles over time, but a fewlike “Use Me”arrived with the release of the album. The tune is a fun and creative amalgamation of the artist’s modern sound: pop-leaning with impeccable production and his own endearing vocals.

NMF Roundup: Gesaffelstein reveals ‘Hyperion’ in full, Seven Lions remixes Above & Beyond, Rinzen releases new mau5trap EP + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Gesaffelstein reveals ‘Hyperion’ in full, Seven Lions remixes Above & Beyond, Rinzen releases new mau5trap EP + moreGesaffelstein Jorge Meza Photos

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

This Friday’s slew of releases is highlighted by the much-anticipated release of Gesaffelstein‘s HyperionWe’re also welcoming yet another Gareth Emery and Ashley Wallbridge release, along with a calming new Baltra “Vocal” Remix of Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs‘ “Energy Fantasy.” Seven Lions returns on a heartfelt remix of Above & Beyond‘s “Sahara Love” with Zoë Johnston, and Rinzen reveals a tantalizing two-track mau5trap EP, Prologue. Hardwell teams up with Mike Williams on “I’m Not Sorry,” and Pegboard Nerds return to Monstercat with the energy-packed “Gunslinga” with MC Mota. Boombox Cartel links with Karra on “Nothing to Hide,” and Dabin taps Inukshuk and Nevve on the journey-like “Another Day.” Audien and Echosmith craft a radio-friendly tune in “Favorite Sound,” and Lost Frequencies and Flynn “Recognise” each others’ talents in their new collaboration. Dance music pioneers The Chemical Brothers deliver a new original, “We’ve Got to Try,” and Shadient takes no prisoners in his new Gud Vibrations release, “Abberate.” David Guetta and Tom Staar team up for “This Ain’t Techno,” and Alesso unveils Progresso Volume 1 with tracks like “CONFESSION.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Photo credit: Jorge Meza Photos

Inukshuk – Too Far Gone

This post was originally published on this site


Canadian-based artist Inukshuk continues to deliver on his melodic melange of tunes with his latest, “Too Far Gone.”

A far cry from his earlier work, Inukshuk leaves the ethereal vocals behind in “Too Far Gone.” Instead, he’s incorporating short-skittish vocal utterances, aligning his indie synth sound with something like Porter Robinson’s seminal LP, Worlds. While the midtempo BPM is reminiscent of Robinson’s work, Inukshuk’s take allows for more breathing and a less packed sonic spectrum.

As Inukshuk’s infectious melody contorts itself, his own ability to emulate the past, present, and future of electro-pop shines through — ensuring that this is merely the beginning.