Delicate Steve – “Selfie Of A Man”

This post was originally published on this site

Delicate SteveUnder the name Delicate Steve, New Jersey guitar hero Steve Marion makes playful instrumental rock music with all the color and fun of a Saturday morning cartoon. Last we heard from him, the serial collaborator was teaming up with MC5’s Wayne Kramer for a cover of MC5’s own “American Ruse.” A few months … More »

Kanye Endorses 6ix9ine, XXXTentacion, Louis C.K., Alex Jones During Fader Visit

This post was originally published on this site

Kanye WestKanye West announced last week that he’s releasing a new album called Yandhi this Saturday, the same day he’s scheduled to perform on Saturday Night Live’s season premiere. Today on Twitter he confirmed what most of us suspected: The album will be out Saturday night, presumably around the time of the … More »

Delicate Steve – “American Ruse” (Feat. Wayne Kramer) (MC5 Cover)

This post was originally published on this site

For years now, New Jersey guitar hero Steve Marion has been recording adventurous, giddily fun, mostly instrumental music under the name Delicate Steve. But he can also straight-up rock. His last album, This Is Steve, found him wading into slightly more traditional waters, and beyond his career as a solo artist, he’s lent his … More »

The Ah (Star Rover, Delicate Steve, David Byrne, drummer Jeremy Gustin) premieres “I Changed Colour” video from forthcoming Common Bliss cassette

This post was originally published on this site

Anyone who has heard Jeremy Gustin’s drum work with the (largely) instrumental acts Delicate Steve and with his own Star Rover project knows he can hit kits like a ton of bricks…if each brick in that ton was made of ten brick-like sticks: SKRONK, SPLAP, SPLORK AAHT AAHHT BLOOOT, SPUTZ SPITZA CHUKKUNK CLUNK, TING KATOONG PLAPF, UNKLIK ULK, ZZIP, SHMUZORFT, POFFISSS… (thanks MAD Magazine!).

But although Gustin can certainly conjure highly entertaining percussive sound effects with the best of them, he also possesses soul by the bucketful. This misfit mix puts him in high demand to play with diverse artists like David Byrne, Larkin Grimm, Marc Ribot, and Albert Hammond Jr. For his latest project, The Ah, Gustin gets to play center stage instead of upstaging those with whom he plays. The debut album from The Ah is entitled Common Bliss, and it comes out on compact cassette (w/180 gram digital download) via NNA Tapes on November 17 (pre-order it here.

The Ah gives Gustin the opportunity to step away from the drum stool and make an “electronic” record of sampling and programming field recordings, found sounds, and animal noises; and the result is an aesthetically intriguing look into his creative mind. Common Bliss’s first single, “High Low,” was premiered by Paste last month, and a trailer for the project can be viewed here.

And today, we at TMT are pleased to premiere the video for the album’s latest release, “I Changed Colour.” It’s a beautiful pairing of day-dreamy tones and youthful cavorting. See for yourself below and answer life’s eternal questions: Hmm…is The Ah, better than Allah-Las? Or not as good as A-ha? Now let’s get back to that magazine…BLEEGH YAAUGH RAWGH, BRAGHK, SPROP BLOP BLOP, GUKGUK, SPLAPPLE PLAP, BLAM BLAM BLAM, OOOOOH THUD!!!… (LOL, still so satisfying!)

Common Bliss tracklisting:

01. Inclined for Wren
02. Green Waves
03. I Changed Colour
04. Lamb Jump
05. High Low
06. Elephant Thimbles
07. Slight Beams
08. Common Bliss
09. The Kiss Truly
10. Hazel Club
11. Tre Dias
12. Black Cloud Shadows
13. Dearest Blue
14. Quicksand

74 Artists On Their Favorite Tom Petty Song

This post was originally published on this site

I once got busted trying to steal a magazine from my hometown library. The 8/8/91 issue of Rolling Stone apparently had one of those sensors on the last page and it beeped from my backpack on the way out. I was gonna bring it back. I just wanted to take it home to read the … More »

Stream Delicate Steve’s New Surprise EP Cowboy Stories

This post was originally published on this site

Eclectic instrumentalist Delicate Steve already released an album called This Is Steve this year, and he’s already back today with a new surprise EP called Cowboy Stories. The four-track set is available through conventional means, but he’s also streaming various tracks through the social media profiles of friends including the Growlers, Mac DeMarco, Dr. Dog, … More »