Music Review: Megan Thee Stallion – Fever

This post was originally published on this site

Megan Thee Stallion


[300 Entertainment; 2019]

Rating: 4.5/5

We need to first give props to Three 6 Mafia. The type of club anthems so evident on Megan Thee Stallion’s Fever seem to come straight from the Memphis institution, the album acting like a monument to the unhinged 4 AM music solidified in Southern black culture. But she doesn’t merely ape Crunchy Black, Juicy J, and co (Juicy cameo notwithstanding). Rather, there’s an unhinged power in Megan’s forceful rapping about feminine authority, and it’s in part what makes Fever so enthralling.

But Fever’s success also hinges more simply on its chaotic energy. Browsing social media, “the summer of Megan” is held up as a standard to which artists can aspire: unconcerned toward the vapidity of others’ feelings, consistently wildin’ out, and bringing out the id through bangers perfectly suited for the warm weather. Even for homebodies, Megan imbues spaces with a sense of grandeur while capturing the essence of Houston rap through brute force, with a faux-blaxploitation cover to top it off.

Rap is an extrovert’s game, but the dynamism that Megan possesses is nearly unmatched. Her verses are absolutely electrifying, packing the heat she sponged up from her favorites like UGK, Project Pat, and Trina. Sprinkle a little Memphis here, some Miami bass there, and a bit of Houston swagger, and it’s a chemistry experiment gone horribly right. Besides Juicy J’s appearance as the approving forefather passing down the metaphorical torch, the only other guest on Megan’s wild ride is DaBaby. Their song, “Cash Shit,” is downright nasty, showcasing two rising rappers at the top of their game, with Megan giving disapproving sneers verse by verse and DaBaby bringing out his PornHub audition tape. (Their faces say it all.)

Megan Thee Stallion has thrown down the gauntlet with Fever, serving as an introduction to a new breed of down-South conqueror: a confident woman built for Instagram fame but steadfastly disciplined and technically excellent. The daughter of a former rapper, her ascendancy seems like destiny, in a way that even George R.R. Martin would think cliché. She’s on her Derrick Rose MVP season shit, smacking down naysayers with music undeniably accomplished, fully formed, and without blemish. This is the path of Megan Thee Stallion: destroyer of worlds, holder of the crown.

Young Thug delays Slime Language until tonight (boo!), clarifies that it’s a compilation (wtf!!)

This post was originally published on this site

Young Thug turns 28 years old today. And you know what that means, right? Yep, it means that he is OLD. AS. SHIT. Seriously, that’s so fucking old! My god!! But hey, with age comes maturity, so rather than asking for a present, Atlanta’s Thuggiest has decided to give a present this year, and it just so happens to be the greatest present of all: a new project titled Slime Language, jam-packed with features from the likes of Gunna, Jacquees, Lil Uzi Vert, Tracy T, Duke, and many more. Unfortunately, it’s not the “studio debut” that many were reporting. A representative speaking to The FADER has clarified that it’s a “compilation project.”

Slime Language was expected at midnight, but as per usual, we got fucked over once again it didn’t pan out that way, leaving many fans waiting up until the wee hours of the morning making jokes on Twitter. It’s kind of a ritual at this point. Anyway, gotta treat our senior citizens right, so why don’t you mosey on down them internet tubes and “pre-save” or “pre-add” the project here. Happy birthday, Young Thug!

Slime Language tracklist:

01. Tsunami
02. U Ain’t Slime Enough Ft. Karlae & Duke
03. Gain Clout
04. Oh Yeah Ft. Hidoraah
05. Audemar Ft. Tracy T
06. Chanel (Go Get It) Ft. Gunna & Lil Baby
07. Dirty Shoes Ft. Gunna
08. It’s A Slime Ft. Lil Uzi Vert
09. Goin Up Ft. Lil Keed
10. January 1st Ft. Jacquees & Trapboy Freddy
11. Chains Choking Me Ft. Gunna
12. STS Ft. Strick
13. Expensive Ft. Hidoraah & Dolly
14. Slimed In Ft. Nechie

Young Thug releases new EP Hear No Evil ft. Nicki Minaj, 21 Savage, Lil Uzi Vert

This post was originally published on this site

Young Thug, rapper from Atlanta and lead actor opposite Diane Lane in romcom Under the Tuscan Sun (2003), has just dropped a new EP. It’s titled Hear No Evil, and it features guest spots from 21 Savage, Lil Uzi Vert, and Nicki Minaj. But you have to act quick, because the EP is out RIGHT NOW on 300 Entertainment! If it sells out there, try Atlantic Records! And I bet YSL Records would have some too! COOL!!

Hear No Evil follows last year’s Super Slimey mixtape (his joint project with Future) and solo album Beautiful Thugger Girls. Scroll down to watch the “sign language video” for “Anybody (ft. Nicki Minaj),” which was made in tribute to Thugger’s deaf brother.

Hear No Evil tracklist:

01. Anybody Ft. Nicki Minaj [Prod. Rex Kudo & Charlie Handsome]
02. Up Ft. Lil Uzi Vert [Prod. Southside]
03. Now Ft. 21 Savage [Prod. DJ Spinz]