i_o previews his remix of Above & Beyond’s ‘Alchemy’

This post was originally published on this site

i_o previews his remix of Above & Beyond’s ‘Alchemy’I O

Mysterious techno producer i_o uploaded a 45 second clip of his remix of classic Above & Beyond track ‘Alchemy’. The mau5trap artist has quickly gained recognition with his dark sound and versatile production, having sold out 5 of 6 opening tour shows and set to play Beyond Wonderland on March 22. He recently collaborated with Tommy Trash on progressive house single ‘Let Me Go’.

i_o’s “Alchemy” remix hits hard with its pulsating bass and hi-hats, putting a dark, techno-inspired twist on Above & Beyond’s beloved trance song. It feels like quite a fitting reimagining, given the original’s poignant themes. “Alchemy” has been previously remixed by Seven Lions and Jody Wisternoff. This particular re-work is i_o’s first stab at an Anjunadeep re-work.

View this post on Instagram

it was alchemy… @aboveandbeyond – Alchemy (i_o remix)

A post shared by i_o (@i_oofficial) on

H/T: EDM Tunes

Photo Credit: Official i_o Instagram

Tommy Trash links with i_o for progressive house heater, ‘Let Me Go’ featuring Daisy Guttridge

This post was originally published on this site

Tommy Trash links with i_o for progressive house heater, ‘Let Me Go’ featuring Daisy GuttridgeTommy Trash I O E1549984854529

i_o joins Tommy Trash, the “Reload” producer with Sebastian Ingrosso and John Martin, in his return to progressive house with their new single “Let Me Go” featuring Daisy Guttridge. In fact, one of the last songs Tommy Trash released was with i_o about a year ago: “Oxygen,” also featuring Guttridge. Whereas the former was released on Spinnin‘, this time around deadmau5 showcased the collaboration on his mau5trap imprint.

“Let Me Go” begins with Guttridge’s soothing vocals making their way to a bed of synths that lead into arpeggiated plucks a slow build. These plucks are maintained as the lead melody amidst a progressive house rhythm and vocal fills.

i_o represented on Dancing Astronaut’s Ones to Watch in 2019 list with a stellar 2018 from his debut EP, ANALOG//DDoS, all the way to his most recent bass-centric Low EP. Teaming up with Tommy Trash continues to add credibility to the rising star.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 77

This post was originally published on this site

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 77Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Listen in playlist format here.

After a slew of impressive originals in 2018, Mielo kicks off his 2019 with the first single from his debut EP, “ILY.” His contemplative style is beautifully exhibited here, ands he teams up with vocalist Sarah De Warren to bring an even more heavenly element to the tune. Gorgeous piano melodies and dreamy synths create a perfect backdrop for the vocals and subdued percussion in “ILY.” Mielo leaves listeners wanting more with this one, and it serves as an introspective precursor to the forthcoming EP.

Speaking of first singles from new EPs, Haywyre has returned to kick off his funky-fresh Panorama: Form EP with “Let Me Hear That.” This one, like much of his music, is irresistibly groovy. It’s packed full of lively piano and synth melodies that embody Haywyre’s sound in every way. He’s categorized this surefire hit as “maximum funk,” and rightly so. It’ll be tricky to get this one out of your head.

Camo & Krooked are putting themselves on the map with the release of “Atlas.” This one manages to contain the powerful, wall-busting energy their tracks tend to have, bottling it carefully with meticulous production. Its journey-like qualities truly make the title appropriate, and the prolonged introduction builds anticipation in a spectacular way. When the drop hits, the listener is taken on a wild ride of dramatic drum & bass rhythms and thrilling themes.

House heavy-hitter Dustycloud has returned to deliver yet another powerful number. The Parisian powerhouse looks to be asserting his dominance in 2019 with “Brave,” which pounds the listener with copious doses of bass right from the get-go. He gives a brief taste of what to expect in the beginning before diving into a deep canyon of bass. A restrained break in the middle of the song gives the listener a brief chance to catch their breath again before the bass again takes over. It’s pure intensity.

Fans of i_o know that he’s been teasing a massive collaboration with Tommy Trash for weeks. “Let Me Go” has finally arrived on mau5trap, much to the delight of those who’ve been waiting seemingly for ages (read: me). The dance floor-primed track reunites the two producers, who first collaborated on “Oxygen” in 2017. They’ve tapped the gorgeous vocals of songstress Daisy Guttridge to deliver this silky-smooth progressive track—and it’s well worth the wait.

NMF Roundup: Medasin returns with ‘Mr. Skitters,’ i_o teams up with Tommy Trash, Feed Me releases first single from new album + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Medasin returns with ‘Mr. Skitters,’ i_o teams up with Tommy Trash, Feed Me releases first single from new album + moreStatement Festival Annika Berglund

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

Above & Beyond kick off New Music Friday in fine fashion with their new single, “Distorted Truth.” Tommy Trash and i_o unleash their much-anticipated collaboration, “Let Me Go,” and Medasin returns with his first original of 2019, “Mr. Skitters.” Diplo and Octavian make an impeccable team on “New Shapes,” as do Feed Me and Rosie Doonan on “Feel Love.” Hardwell and Dannic unveil “Chase The Sun,” and Au5 rounds out his two-track Energize EP with “Activate.” The Chainsmokers bring another pop-inspired number via “Who Do You Love” with 5 Seconds of Summer, and David Guetta, Brooks, and Loote gear up for festival season with “Better When You’re Gone.” Quintino can’t be brought down in his new single, and Pixel Terror return to Monstercat with “Ultima.” Tisoki delivers a fresh remix of Party Favor‘s “Blame,” and Jay Hardway takes off into the atmosphere with “Aliens.” R3HAB joins forces with Icona Pop for “This Is How We Party,” and Darude and Sebastian Rejman craft a euphoric dance number in “Release Me.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Photo credit: Annika Berglund