Gryffin solidifies two years of preparation with his 16-track debut LP, ‘Gravity’

This post was originally published on this site

Gryffin solidifies two years of preparation with his 16-track debut LP, ‘Gravity’69338567 2222304668060523 8495674662383820784 N

It’s been more than a two-year odyssey for Gryffin since the groundwork for his freshman full-length effort, Gravity, was initially set into motion during the fall of 2017. The project’s aggregate roll-out, which constituted a formal five-track EP release last December, as well as close to a dozen official singles, has decisively come full circle following its lead single introduction with “Nobody Compares To You.”

From bubbling beneath the charts with unofficial SoundCloud remixes to formally producing music in tandem with an abundance of Grammy-nominated acts, Gryffin has navigated a meticulous avenue to his current feat: Gravity out in its entirety, containing a track list that spans 16 sublime titles.

While there are more than a modest number of never-before-heard Gryffin productions to briskly dive into, the 11 previous singles from Gravity cannot be forgotten, including hits like “Remember” with Zohara, “Tie Me Down” with Elley Duhé, “All You Need To Know” with Slander, “OMG” with Carly Rae Jepsen in addition to a myriad of others.

In preparation for the album’s forthcoming release just over the past month, Gryffin unwrapped two final gifts as he continued to exemplify that there would not be a single mediocre listing on Gravity with “Baggage” alongside Gorgon City and AlunaGeorge, and most recently, “Body Back.” In terms of brand new music from Gryffin, perhaps the most enticing listen from the unbeknownst album designations is his long-awaited union alongside Seven Lions, which was debuted during the very first GRAVITY II LIVE spectacle in Brooklyn this past August.

Comprehensively, Gravity is engulfed with transcendent productions that encompass further collaborations with DROELOE, a reunion alongside Zohara, and a duet between MARINA and Model Child. For those fortuitous enough to be in attendance for any of Gryffin’s live performances this past summer, he treated fans to his ethereal drumline-induced introductory piece as the project’s commencing piece that provides the cherry on top to one of the year’s most remarkable dance music bodies of work.

Stream Gravity in full below, and purchase tickets to any of Gryffin’s forthcoming GRAVITY II LIVE shows during the remainder of this fall and winter.

Photo credit: Juliana Bernstein

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 94

This post was originally published on this site

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 94Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Listen in playlist format here.

One week ago, Madnap and Yetep revealed an absolutely show-stopping collaboration with Miranda Glory. “It’s Just You” is an emotive journey through Glory’s shimmering vocals, interspersed with dramatic breakdowns and heavy synthwork. The powerful instrumentals were what first hooked me on this tune, but as I’ve listened to it over and over again, I’ve come to truly appreciate the harmonious contrast of Glory’s soothing vocals and the forceful production.

Kramder continues to thrill with a steady stream of infectious house releases. For his latest, he’s taken to Uprise Music for some disco-infused production. “No Time To Be” is a steady-rocking funk tune that uses choppy vocals and a grooving beat to lure the listener in. In his latest release, the French producer has developed a fun, retro edge to his style, helping pave the way for the reemergence of disco elements in today’s house music.

For her new remix package, MARINA has tapped celebrated producer Claptone for a sultry house spin. This dark and moody rendition of “Orange Trees” deviates from the summery atmosphere of the original, which MARINA created to pay homage to the island she grew up on in Greece. Claptone dives to the depths of the nearby ocean on his remake, creating an almost somber backdrop with a deep bassline and shadowy synth melodies.

After six years, Camo & Krooked have made their return to Hospital Records with “Loa.” According to UKF, this new single was “inspired by Haitian voodoo rituals” and Haitian instruments, making for a drum ‘n’ bass song that’s in a league of its own. The introduction is complex and compelling, leaving the listener wondering what’s in store and what the drop will be like. With a unique and addictive drop, fans will find themselves racing through the jungle as the duo paints a vivid sonic picture with their impeccable production.

Dancing Astronaut‘s Breakout Artist of 2018 continues to inspire us with an impressive showing so far in 2019. He follows up his debut LP, Irene, and February’s “Mr. Skitters” with a gorgeous remix of Local Natives’ “When Am I Gonna Lose You.” Medasin’s dreamy style fits in perfectly with the nostalgic feel of Local Natives’ music. Medasin’s subtle trap beat paired with falsetto and pensive harmonies are a match made in heaven.

NMF Roundup: A-Trak remixes The Magician, Lost Kings unveil new original + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: A-Trak remixes The Magician, Lost Kings unveil new original + moreA Trak

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

A-Trak brings the heat this Friday with a tantalizing remix of The Magician’s “Ready To Love,” and Lost Kings tap Anna Clendening for their new original, “Too Far Gone.” Habstrakt makes his Monstercat debut with “Infinite,” and Claptone takes on MARINA’s “Orange Trees” in a spicy new remix. Space Laces reveals a remix package for Overdrive, featuring tunes like Gammer’s remix of “Torque,” and GTA release a formidable trap number, “FK IT.” Maduk has remixed Fox Stevenson’s “Take You Down,” and Afrojack bursts into June with “It Goes Like.” CloudNone, Direct, and Matt Van team up for “Lost and Found,” and R3HAB remixes NOTD’s “I Miss Myself.” Kaivon has put a new spin on Alison Wonderland’s “Peace,” and Duke & Jones flex their remix skills on Yellow Claw’s “Break of Dawn.” Julian Jordan keeps things grooving on “To The Wire,” and tyDi and Matt Fax have collaborated on “It’s Always Now.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Photo credit: Shane O’Neal