Mad Cool adds Lauryn Hill, Empire Of The Sun, The Gossip, and more to already expansive 2019 lineup

This post was originally published on this site

Mad Cool adds Lauryn Hill, Empire Of The Sun, The Gossip, and more to already expansive 2019 lineupMad Cool Festival Main Stage

Mad Cool’s lineup arrives as an exemplification of its name. Madrid’s multifarious music festival, Mad Cool is genre amorphous from its headliners to its flanking acts. Lauryn Hill, Empire Of The Sun, The Gossip, and Prophets Of Rage appear as the newest headliners to top the bill, which already touts Bon Iver, The National, The Smashing Pumpkins, and The Cure. Festival organizers have added several more artists to the festival’s expansive collection of talent, including Marina–formerly of Marina & The Diamonds–Let’s Eat Grandma, SG Lewis, Black Honey, Haiku Hands, and more.

A veritable sonic sampler, Mad Cool merges many genres, including, of course, the electronic. The Chemical Brothers, Disclosure, Charlotte De Witte, Eric Prydz, Years & Years, and Bonobo represent just some of Mad Cool’s dance selections. Mad Cool will host its musically explorative 2019 iteration from July 11-13. Tickets to the festival are currently available for purchase, here.

Photo Credit:


It’s comeback season: newly renovated Webster Hall announces first shows of 2019

This post was originally published on this site

It’s comeback season: newly renovated Webster Hall announces first shows of 2019Webster Hall

After a long-winded hiatus for renovations and full-blown restructuring, Veteran New York venue, Webster Hall is prepared to reopen its doors, following its summer 2017 closure.

The East Village fan favorite will usher in its 2019 year of production on May 1, with a performance from Patti Smith and Her Band. The cross-genre acts that span Webster’s May event calendar prove that the event hall will continue its tradition of catering to attendees’ diverse musical preferences. Webster Hall will see acts from distinctive sonic spheres take the stage, or respectively, the decks. TroyBoi, MGMT, The Japanese House, Royal Trux, Broken Social Scene, FKJ, Sharon Van Etten, Aaron Tveit, Johnnyswim, Old Dominion, and Chromeo, who will joined by a live band, account for Webster’s multifarious May billings.

Webster will additionally see appearances from Empire Of The Sun, Real Estate, and City of the Sun later in the summer. The historic venue will also welcome the return of Emo Nite, along with its Saturday club nights, returning in September. Visit Webster Hall’s official website for a full list of events and additional information.

Photo Credit: Scotty Hawk for Nest HQ

Apparently Ultra’s 2018 lineup just leaked (…and has since been confirmed)

This post was originally published on this site

Ultra’s 2018 lineup may have leaked, according to multiple sources. Earlier this evening Empire of the Sun posted the leak to Instagram but they have since removed the post. Popular festival news twitter account, The Festive Owl, posted the leak to social media with a detailed account of the aforementioned series of events. Although it is unconfirmed as to whether the leak is in fact fully accurate, Empire of the Sun’s sharing of the festival’s poster increases the likelihood that the leak is indeed accurate and The Festive Owl’s certainty on the matter is certainly compelling.





Update [8:48 PM EST 12/18/2017]: Ultra has since confirmed the lineup via their official Twitter page.


Read More:

Empire of the Sun Returns with ‘On Our Way Home’

Ultra Music Festival teases upcoming 20th anniversary edition with sentimental trailer

What will Coachella’s EDM programming look like this year?

Empire of the Sun Returns with ‘On Our Way Home’

This post was originally published on this site

Enigmatic Australian electronic duo Empire of the Sun has returned with a new EP On Our Way Home. The new release is the group’s first since their last LP Two Vines debuted in October 2016 and features three new tracks: “On Our Way Home,”  “Two Leaves” and three versions of ” Way To Go.” The alt-electro pioneers have also released stunning videos to accompany two of the tracks, with groundbreaking Japanese media director Nobumichi Asai of WOW Productions crafting an especially stunning visual manifestation for “Way To Go.” 

The video dropped yesterday and utilizes innovative 3D scanning technology, motion, and facial motion capture technology. Speaking about the group’s recent inspiration from Japanese culture, Luke Steele, who formed Empire of the Sun in 2008 with  Nick Littlemore, recalled, “We discovered Japanese director Nobumichi Asai’s work through a short film he had created called Kagami and all of his famous face projection mapping works. The colors and shapes he creates are mind-bending. with a certain digital romance to it all. Our unwavering confidence in his ability had us reaching out to him to marry his imagination with our music.”

This is Empire of the Sun’s first release in nearly a year and the Australian supergroup is perhaps best known for their striking aesthetics and creative flair. This new chapter for the duo is yet another testament to their potent creative acumen considering the combined views of the band’s innovative videos now exceed 150 million, including more than 70 million for the global hit “Walking On A Dream.”

Read More:

Empire of the Sun release two singles from their upcoming LP, ‘High and Low’ and the title track ‘Two Vines’

Stream Empire of The Sun’s new album ‘Two Vines

Empire of the Sun announce new album ‘Two Vines