Warp Records celebrates 30th birthday with ‘WXAXRXP Sessions’ anthology [Playlist]

This post was originally published on this site

Warp Records celebrates 30th birthday with ‘WXAXRXP Sessions’ anthology [Playlist]Warpsessions

Warp Records was born in 1989 with the 500-copy pressing of Forgemasters’ “Track With No Name,” a jukin’ bleep-techno single which, at the time of release, could only be distributed by label heads Rob Mitchell and Steve Beckett in a borrowed car. 30 years later, however, the English record label is synonymous with electronic music that’s as visionary and idiosyncratic as it is innately experimental. Having fostered the successes of acts like Aphex Twin, Boards of Canada, Brian Eno and Flying Lotus, the label sports an all-star roster whose reverberative impact on the electronic space speaks for itself.

The mainstay imprint celebrates its 30th birthday this year. The commemorative efforts began with a 100+ hour takeover of NTS radio back in June; and next with the forthcoming release of WXAXRXP Sessions, a thick box set that cements 10 rare and iconic radio sessions from Warp’s lineup into the label’s storied history. In addition to the 10 records, the collection also comes with eight unique prints and 10 Warp stickers.

WXAXRXP Sessions is scheduled to be released on November 15. To prepare, Dancing Astronaut drafted a celebratory playlist to delineate some of the most resounding and landscape-altering Warp Records selects. Find both the anticipated contents of the set and our Warp earworm roundup below.

Aphex Twin: Peel Session 2 (10/04/95)
Bibio: WXAXRXP Session (21/06/2019)
Boards of Canada: Peel Session (21/07/98)
Flying Lotus: Presents INFINITY “Infinitum” Maida Vale Session (19/08/10)
Kelly Moran: WXAXRXP Session (22/06/2019)
LFO: Peel Session (20/10/90)
Mount Kimbie: WXAXRXP Session (21/06/2019)
Oneohtrix Point Never: KCRW Session (23/10/18)
Plaid: Peel Session 2 (08/05/99)
Seefeel: Peel Session (27/05/94)

NMF Roundup: Diplo remixes Kaskade, Spencer Brown takes on deadmau5 + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Diplo remixes Kaskade, Spencer Brown takes on deadmau5 + moreSpencer Brown Press 3 E1568995205752

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

Diplo leads the charge this NMF with a sultry remix of Kaskade, Felix Cartal and Jenn Blosil’s “More,” and Spencer Brown previews deadmau5’s forthcoming here’s the drop! remix LP with his take on “fn pig (ov).” Cashmere Cat’s sophomore album makes its debut on Sept. 20, featuring song like the Christina Aguilera-sampled “WATERGIRL,” and Chris Lorenzo takes on Boombox Cartel and MadeinTYO’s “NEW WIP.” M83’s much-anticipated 15-song DSVII is out now, featuring songs like “Feelings,” and Kill Paris puts an even groovier spin on Haywyre’s already-funky “Storyteller.” Opiuo and Lafa Taylor shine in “Send It,” and Muzzy tackles Knife Party’s “Ghost Train” with a sinister rendition of his own. Billy Kenny and Huxley take to the dance floor on “SWEAT,” and Feenixpawl and Marcus Santoro bring the feels with “Forever Young.” Cristoph puts his own spin on The Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition,” and Dom Dolla plays with words on “San Frandisco.” David Guetta remixes himself as Jack Back in a new remix of “Thing For You,” and Luttrell paints a serene soundscape with his remix of Jai Wolf and Mr Gabriel’s “Lose My Mind.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Flying Lotus drops new material during Warp Records’ 30th anniversary

This post was originally published on this site

Flying Lotus drops new material during Warp Records’ 30th anniversaryFlying Lotus Live Photo Credit 3D Live

Few current music labels have their roots as deeply ingrained in the history of their scene as Warp Records does. The artist collective, which has a penchant for highlighting visionary, yet off-kilter acts including everyone from Autechre to Boards of Canada, celebrated their 30th anniversary this past week with a takeover of NTS Radio.

Feeling loose from the success of his latest LP, Flamagra, label centerpiece Flying Lotus brought one of the weekend’s show-stopping sets in his FLAMAGRA VS. WXAXRXP MIX, putting some mustard on an already bumping summer celebration with a further slew of unreleased material. Appearances from David Lynch as well as George Clinton don’t only demonstrate the depth of FlyLo’s bag of musical tricks, but show just how respected he is among the greater musical community.

The weekend brought fans over 100 hours of rare sets and forgotten cuts from a who’s who of the Warp roster, including the likes of Aphex Twin, Squarepusher and Hudson Mohawke, to cherry-pick just a few. Head over to NTS Radio to check out and relisten to the weekend’s star-studded lineup in full.


  • FLYLO 
    You’re Different Now (Unreleased)
  • FLYLO 
    A Dog Among The Ruin (Unreleased)
  • FLYLO 
    Throwing My Phone At The Wall If You Call (Unreleased)
  • FLYLO 
    Your Floppy Friend Soulja Boy (Unreleased)
    King Of The Hill
    Link Up
    Do The Astral Plane
    Dope Dogs George Clinton Unreleased
    Disco Is (Sunuske Ono Remix)
  • FLYLO 
    Takashi (Rework) *
    Takashi (Remix)
  • FLYLO 
    Your Grinder
  • FLYLO 
    Crash The Server Ft Denzel Curry / Unreleased Carole And Tuesday
    Fire Is Coming (Little Snake Rework)
  • FLYLO 
    The Clearing (Blade Runner 2022)
  • FLYLO 
    Roach Music
  • FLYLO 
    Cyclic Bit (Raymond Scott Cover)
  • FLYLO 
    The Seed (Unreleased)
  • FLYLO 
    Coool Ft. Sir Unreleased
    Walk Free (Flying Lotus Remix)
  • FLYLO 
    Carole And Tuesday Sdtk Unreleased
  • FLYLO 
    Cemetery Love Story Ft Aja Monet (Unreleased)
    Just Restart

Photo credit: 3D Live