Will Clarke provides punchy three-track EP, ‘Nothing Is Forever’ on Truesoul [Stream]

This post was originally published on this site

Will Clarke provides punchy three-track EP, ‘Nothing Is Forever’ on Truesoul [Stream]1O2amnOTV3H6Gtk0pb9QMfuaLrPkAT5wVlGv7U

It’s been quite a few years since Will Clarke‘s most prominent offering was ‘Booty Percolatin’; his defining Dirtybird track that not only made him a permanent member of the crew, but a symbol for all things bouncing booty-house.

That track was released in 2016. Now it’s 2019, and Will Clarke is digging deeper and deeper. Over those three years, he’s morphed that rump-shaking aesthetic into a captivating middle ground between techno and tech-house, culminating recently in his new EP, Nothing Is Forever.

This is Clarke’s first solo EP on Drumcode‘s sister label, Truesoul. He was on the label prior a mere six months ago via his joint EP with Eli Brown entitled Our Love, and now he’s gone even darker with Nothing Is Forever. Each of the three tracks involves the kind of dissonant syncopation that ignites the energy at a techno warehouse party, and not a single vocal can be found on the EP which is rare considering Clarke’s past work.

With this new release, his remix getting placed on the upcoming iteration of Drumcode’s A-Sides compilation, and the growing steam behind Amok, his collaborative project with techno maven, Sian, Will Clarke could be spinning alongside the Drumcode team before long.

NMF Roundup: Arty returns with ‘Avalanche,’ Kygo and Rita Ora team up, Spencer Brown and Raito become ‘Star Allies’ + more

This post was originally published on this site

NMF Roundup: Arty returns with ‘Avalanche,’ Kygo and Rita Ora team up, Spencer Brown and Raito become ‘Star Allies’ + moreArty Press Shot E1555682005545

It’s most important day of the week: New Music Friday. With the overwhelming amount of tunes hitting the airwaves today, Dancing Astronaut has you covered with the latest edition of The Hot 25.

Russian producer Arty kicks off New Music Friday in fine fashion with a gorgeous new single called “Avalanche,” and Kygo and Rita Ora are a dream team on their new collaboration, “Carry On.” Spencer Brown and Raito deliver a dark and powerful mau5trap release, “Star Allies,” and R3HAB crafts a dreamy remix of Sofi Tukker‘s “Fantasy.” Rusko brings a classic dubstep feel to GRiZ and Boogie T‘s “Supa Fly,” and Dustycloud takes listeners deep into a shadowy nightclub on “The Way.” Peggy Gou has released her Moment EP, featuring songs like “Starry Night,” and David Guetta takes on Bebe Rexha‘s “Last Hurrah.” Two Friends hit the drive thru on “Dollar Menu,” and Sam Void brings groovy house beats to Nicky Romero and David Guetta’s “Ring the Alarm.” Culture Shock debuts a drum ‘n’ bass heater, “Renaissance,” and Steve Aoki and Alok “Do It Again” on their new collaboration. Blanke remixes Illenium and Kameron Alexander’s “Pray,” and Young Bombs release a four-track remix pack for “Starry Eyes.”

As each week brings a succession of new music from some of electronic music’s biggest artists, here’s a selection of tracks that shouldn’t be missed this NMF.

Sian & Will Clarke run AMOK on Octopus

This post was originally published on this site

Sian & Will Clarke run AMOK on OctopusWill Clarke Sian AMOK

A new project has been born between Sian and Will Clarke, and is proving to be positively destructive. Under the moniker AMOK, You Only Want Me has arrived as a three-track introduction to what they collectively stand for. The EP’s namesake opener quietly creeps up on its listeners before detonating into a menacing tech weapon that stirs unease on the dance floor. Right away, AMOK sets a tone of seriousness that persists throughout the rest of the EP.

“The Creeper” follows up with a searing bassline and acid tones that are joined by a speedy tempo to wrap its targets in a tight grip. Breaking free of the darkness feels like an impossibility. Finally, “It Is Nothing” is a high-octane ending to You Only Want me. Steamy vocal samples are doused in nostalgic synth stabs and keyboard hits, conjuring images of 90s warehouse parties while carrying a sharpened modern edge. You Only Want Me ultimately shows an even blend between AMOK’s members, with Clarke infusing his feel-good UK elements into the hardware rabbit hole that his production partner’s sound.

Sian’s really shown his experimental side throughout 2018. Prior to becoming AMOK, he also worked heavily with Marc Houle as Marsian, where they debuted a new live setup around key spaces in North America. Will Clarke has always shown versatility in his sets and a willingness to evolve, making his pairing with Sian a sensible fit together.